Joomla 5 Notice

We are pleased to announce that as of January 29, 2024, all of our Joomla extensions are compatible with Joomla 5.

For all who are still updateing from Joomla 3 to Joomla 4: Joomla 4 Migration instructions are available here:

There is now a separate Documentation for Visforms for Joomla 4 and for Visforms for Joomla 5!

Forum

Visforms Subscription user can ask questions in our forum. Please log in with the relevant user first.
Everybody can access the forum for reading.

Please only ask 1 question per topic.

Automatically publishing to a category

More
8 years 9 months ago #1782 by maggie1972
Automatically publishing to a category was created by maggie1972
Hi :)

I am very new to these forms and I am trying to create a form whereby a category can be chosen from a list and when the form is submitted the content is automatically published to the menu that is linked to the category.

So far my form consists of the following

Title - where a title can be written and the input type is text

URL - where a URL can be added

Source - where the submitter must put their source i.e themselves

Description - can have no words or up to 2000 i.e they can type a whole article

Category : This is the bit I need help with. From this they pick which menu they want the content to be shown in.

I have set this category type as 'Select' then put a list of options to choose the category which links to the menu on my Joomla site;
I have for each option put the Value and the Label as the Alias for the name of the category.
I have put public as being able to Edit, Delete, Edit Own input so that it can be published

I know automatic publishing can be done using Joomla forms as I put one in that allowed automatic publishing to a menu by choosing a category. and I was wondering is it 1. possible in vis forms and 2 if so what do you choose to get it working. I would like to us the VIS forms as I like the anti spam and protection they give.

Hope all that made sense.

:)